Animal testing for reasearch and development

Katerina

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Hi all!

I am a chemist and i will soon be starting work on a pharmaceutical contact lense that cures glaucoma in humans.

This contact lense will udergo animal testing in rabbits. I have expressed my dissaproval however there is no other way for this technology to undergo any other kind of trial at least not in the first phase.
The research center i will be working with has a strong bio-ethical approach and treats the test animals as humanely as possible. As a vegan though the term "humane" for me has a much different meaning, less flexible.

This animal testing cannot be avoided. Although i will be part of the personel that develops the conatact lense and not part of the personell that actually tests it on the rabbits, i cant help but feel extremely sad. It comes into conflict with my ethics.

If i leave the group, nothing will change and i will be denying an excellent carrer opportunity. If i stay i will have access to the animals living conditions and i can obsereve first hand how they are treated. And perhaps i can offer alternatives testing solutions (if there are any). Also i thought that maybe when the testing is over i could volunteer to find the animals a home since they will be of no use to the research center.

What would you do in my position? Is there anyone working in the scientific fiels that could suggest an alternative testing method?

Thank you in advance