Avoiding pesticides

Sue Shaw

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Hi, I'm pretty new to all this so please forgive my ignorance if it is a well known topic.

As well as avoiding foodstuffs and clothes, one of the things I'd like to avoid are animal-tested products.
So having moved to a mainly vegetable diet, it's worrying to read about the widespread use of pesticide/biocide testing on animals.

Is it possible to completely avoid pesticide fruit and veg (are their any suppliers or does this mean actually growing things myself)?
I've read that organic foods use pesticides too, just 'less harmful' ones. As far as I'm aware, ALL pesticides must be animal tested.
Are there any good sites for reference I might have missed?

Last edited:
Hello Sue.

I came across this when I first became vegan and I felt pretty hopeless as it's either starve to death or grown your own food though growing your own food is not an option for most vegans if not all I could be wrong.

Being vegan means doing your absolute best to avoid harming/slaughtering animals and sometimes unfortunately there's only so much you can actually do to eventually you will cause some harm but that doesn't mean your not vegan, nobody out there is 100% vegan It's impossible to live a 100% vegan life.

I live in the UK, medicine here I believe has to be tested on animals but that doesn't mean if I need medicine I wont take it, I wont be a very good vegan being incredibly ill spreading disease or worse dead I'll do my absolute best to find alternatives but sometimes as I've mentioned above some things are out of your control and you can only go so far currently in this day and age to save as many lives as you can.

I hope this helps!

Reactions: Alexia