Calculating Protein Intake

VishVingers

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi. Im relatively new to this, probably 4 months. Am aiming for 70g protein a day as I am active male 70kg. When I calculate that I have trouble getting much over 60g a day.

I have porridge and bananna with soy milk for breakfast (15g protein), soup or veg chill and 2 slices seeded bread for lunch (20g protein), a latte and 2 cups of tea with soy milk (7g protein) and then dinner (15-20g protein). I was eating a handful of peanuts as a snack each day, but started putting on weight.

Everyone says its easy to get enough protein but I eat a lot and am always stuffed. I feel like I am missing something. Maybe I am calculating my intake incorrectly or something, or should swap normal carbs for legumes?

Thank you!

welcome to the forum

I am not a nutritionist... the "standard" recommendation is .75 grams per kilogram which would put you at a bit less than 70 grams

A cup of chickpeas is 39 grams... I can eat an entire can, pretty easily by myself and that is more than a cup. Add a few walnuts to your oatmeal and some more beans throughout the day. I personally wouldn't delete any of the starches I would just add more lentils (I put split red lentils in my steel cut oats and soy curl crumbs in my regular rolled oat porridge), beans, chickpeas etc.

I am sure that if @Lou was here he would recommend Cronometer and so I will do so in his stead.

Emma JC
Find your vegan soulmate or just a friend. www.spiritualmatchmaking.com

• Love
Reactions: PTree15 and Lou
First off congrats and welcome to the forum

The number one issue I encounter is that many people Over-estimate their protein requirements.
You may be doing that as well. Although usually the people I run into over estimate it so much higher. I am leaning on the idea that you might have it right.

However.... The RDA for someone like you is 57 g. WHO puts it at 66. So maybe your protein goal is a little high.