Digestive issue

will4445

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan
Ive been eating a whole foods plant based diet for about 2 years now. Im just now noticing that the majority of the time my stools are loose almost like almost diarrhea as of late but not watery. I experimented with eating less fiber and it seems to bulk my stool and cutting out spicy foods because that seems to irritate me and make things come out sooner then id want. Im currently trying to gain weight but i'm plateauing even though i'm trying to consume more calories it seems the more i try to eat the worse the loser my stools get. I also tried eating smaller portions and that helped slightly but its too much of a hassle having to worry about eating every two hours. I tried probiotics and eating more fats and protein but none of it helps.

I'm not a Doctor. but even if I was one, I couldn't help you with the info you have given.

Maybe if you kept a food diary for a few days and posted it on here me or some others might be able to make some guesses.

Anyway, it does sound like something is wrong, so maybe the best advice is to go get a checkup. Checkups are almost always a good idea. Even if there isn't anything wrong with you - it fun to see how healthy you are. also, you can compare check-ups year-to-year and see if you are getting even better. (like cholesterol levels, BP, etc)

I think eating less fiber is exactly the opposite of what you should do. But get your fiber from whole foods, not supplements. Just about everything in a WFPB diet has fiber - so not sure how you can try to reduce the fiber without also reducing how much you eat. Come to think of it, you should if anything try to eat more fiber. Its fiber that helps slow down your GI tract.