How can i safely raise my son as a vegan?

HD_x

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi,

I'm a vegan newbie and have a one year old son. He has a milk protein allergy so we avoid dairy with him. I have done my research I would like to raise him as a vegan, however I don't know enough to do it safely.

Can anyone give me advice on books or anything that may help us raise him as a vegan without causing any deficiencies or growth problems?

Thank you,
Hannah

I seriously doubt anyone here can give you that kind of advice and if they did, I'd still ask a nutritionist before I took that advice. Having said that, you can look into making your own baby foods with vegan ingredients. I know that children need a lot of fat(not necessarily animal fat) to develop a healthy blood-brain barrier. I would talk to a nutritionists/pediatrician before I committed myself to a diet for a growing child.

I read this book and I thought it was good. https://www.amazon.com/Becoming-Vegan-Express-Plant-based-Nutrition/dp/1570672954

It has a specific chapter on children including a section for toddlers but the whole book about vegan nutrition is useful.

When you read generic articles on vegan nutrition, consider that low protein, low calcium and perhaps low fat as mentioned above may be more risky for children than adults. So possibly do extra research on these topics than you would for an adult to check whether or not I'm right. And be skeptical of claims that vegans can eat very low protein or low fat. Such claims are not necessarily meant to be applied to children.

However there is a strong and growing body of evidence, in terms of lack of reported problems, scienfitic studies, and examples of healthy vegan children, that the odds of deficiencies and growth problems for children with a well-planned vegan diet is probably very low.