My food intake question

Donald

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegetarian
I am a male age 54 who is 6'3" tall and weigh 200 pounds with an ideal weight of 165.
I follow a simple diet as I am a terrible cook and wonder if the following meal regimen will supply me with enough calories / nutrition per day? I can't eat spicy, friend, fatty or citrus foods.

Daily Breakfast: Oatmeal with almond fruit, wheatgerm and whole wheat toast with PB.
Dinner: small portion of soup.
Snacks: nuts and dried fruits for snacks.

Below is my daily lunch, varying the vegetables with every new preperation.

Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup 1000 Cal Per Serving

Ingredients

2 cups dry lentils
2 cups uncooked long grain brown rice
5 cup virgin olive oil
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup chopped celery
1/2 red onion, chopped
3 cups almond milk
1 Can Coconut Milk
3 cup vegetable broth
1 garlic cloves, crushed
3 inches ginger root
1/2 tablespoon iodized salt
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

Directions

Place the lentils, rice, carrots, celery, onion, water, broth, garlic powder, ground black pepper and salt in a slow cooker.
Cover and cook on low setting for 7 to 8 hours. Stir in the mushrooms 1 hour before serving.

It looks pretty good. Eat a variety of different things rather than just repeating the same things over and over but if you vary the veg that could be the most important things. Make sure you supplement B12 and I also suggest you put ground chia or flax seeds in some foods for Omeag 3 levels.

Other than that I think it looks great.

Calories - have snacks available and eat more if you feel hungry or are losing weight. Remember new vegetarians and vegans often find that they have to eat larger portions. Or, others prefer a calorie counter online to track foods.

Do you have a weekly meal planner with shopping list? Breakfast I can eat my normal meals. I need something simple that can be easily followed as I am blind.