Advertisement
  1. We need your feedback to shape the future of the forum click here for more information!
    Dismiss Notice

Night shift work

Discussion in 'Health' started by Hazelsqueak, Mar 11, 2019.

1. Hazelsqueak
    Bookworm

Hazelsqueak Member

Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    So, I am going to see my doctor this week because I am having chest pains, my heart flutters and I dry cough all over the place, my hair is falling out, I have horrible anxiety, and I can't sleep.

I have been working 12 hour night shifts for the past 9 years. I know it's not healthy and can lead to heart disease and to be honest, that is what I'm worried about. My diet is...or was...pretty good (vegan and I mostly avoid processed garbage plus I take vitamins.) But lately I've been craving salt really bad so I've been giving into salty stuff like Amy's canned soup.

I guess my question is...do you think I should quit nights and try to go to days? Night shift pays WAY better so it's hard for me to lose $4 an hour because I am trying to pay my husband's way through college...but I also don't want to kill myself. Blarg.

I'm also kind of scared my doctor will blame my vegan diet. Maybe I should get a blood test. I don't know anymore. I am so stressed out and grumpy all the time and I hate myself.

2. Lou
    Psychedelic

Lou Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +1,261 / 4 / -8
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    You should see a doctor. And I doubt he will blame your vegan diet. If you are really worried about it - don't tell him. He will undoubtedly order blood tests. Nowadays doctors always do. If there are any issues caused by your diet he will detect them in the blood work.

• Like Like x 3
  3. amberfunk

amberfunk Active Member

Ratings:
    +248 / 2 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    Hopefully your husband will help work as well even if it's just part time. You shouldn't have to shoulder everything yourself.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Hazelsqueak
    Bookworm