Grocery Shopping as a new Vegan

katmorr

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi everyone, newbie vegan here! I was wondering if anyone has any tips for grocery shopping as a new vegan. I'm a college student so buying fresh food all the time is a lot of work, but any processed food has a lot of ingredients that I don't always understand. Anyone had a similar experience or have any advice for me?

I used to go grocery shopping multiple times a week. The lockdown got me gong just once a week.
although I thought I was pretty good at meal planning, Covid honed my skills.

Meal planning is an art and a science. I've got some reading materials that I can send your way if you are interested.

A lot of vegan chefs have actually made vegan shopping lists. You just check off the things you need. I've never found these things too useful. But as a new vegan it might be a good jump start. So many staples and pantry things to stock up on. Again, if you are interested I can send you some.

What I learned to do is before hitting the grocery store was to plan out every meal for the week. After making my plan I would check my recipes and make my shopping list.

another good time saver is bulk food prep. a lot of my recipes are for 4- 6 servings anyway so I would have lots of leftovers that I could freeze. But I went a step further and even did bulk food prep for PB sandwiches and salads.

Canned chili beans like Joan of Arc, or Bushs-they come either mild or hot. I could eat these cold from the can
Some grains, you can find pre-cooked brown rice, or blends in most stores
Frozen vegetables are as good as fresh. I thaw and just heat in the microwave, or stir fry over high heat
Edamame--shelled are convenient to add to salads or veggies and grains, and complete a meal.
Edamame in the shell are wonderful snacks