Newbie to vegan

Amethyst86

Newcomer
Reaction score
Lifestyle
  1. Vegan newbie
Hi guys I'm new to the vegan life. I chose to be a vegan because of health issues. It's going to be a little tough for me because I don't have my support. My fiance said he will only support me for the short time because he thinks if I do it for the long term it will cause more issues. I really want this to work.

Welcome to the forum, Amethyst!

It will work...think positively! It is the smartest diet for human beings. There is lots of science to support this now. You're going to have to really make an effort to educate yourself on this new lifestyle though. It doesn't have to all come overnight.

First, educate yourself with learning how to cook delicious vegan foods. The biggest myth of all is that vegan food tastes horrible. Youtube has a wealth of information on veganism, and recipes. Maybe splurge on a couple new cookbooks, if it's within your budget. Don't be afraid to try new things. I've really expanded my own culinary repertoire this very way.

Another thing I would recommend is watching some inspiring documentaries about veganism to keep you motivated. I've watched all the popular ones like Forks Over Knives, Eating You Alive, What The Health, Cowspiracy, and many more, many times. I am not sure if I wanted to watch them again to educate myself in presenting my own arguments with friends and family, or if it was simply to just motivate me. I actually thought it would be harder, but I don't miss animal products at all. In fact I find the thought of of eating them now quite repulsive.

All in all, just try to stay motivated, and keep educating yourself on the facts, the science, and how to make your new foods taste better and better. Youtube is your friend here.

You will succeed, Amethyst. I believe in you! Keep us updated here. It's not the busiest forum on the Internet, but the people are friendly, and most often willing to help and/or encourage.