Advertisement

Are fried chips vegan?

Discussion in 'Food' started by Ree92, Feb 6, 2018.

  1. Ree92

    Ree92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    I'm referring to the same kind of salty, crunchy, steamy chips that are typically sold at chicken or fish takeaway shops. I realise they are made from potatoes which are vegan, what I am concerned about is if the oil used to fry them has anything non-vegan. If your answer is "it depends on the store", could you please also describe how I can know without needing to ask a staff. I love fried chips, they are my go to food when I am depressed. I don't know how I can live without it. Any opinions you may have regarding this post is appreciated.
     
  2. Lux
    Cheerful

    Lux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    Depends on where in the world you live. In my area (Scandinavia) it is extremely rare to find chips fried in anything else than vegetable oil, but it's more common in other countries. In my experience, chips that you get in America, that are non-vegan are usually crispier, but I doubt I could safely say that means I could identify them in a chip line up, haha. I get that it might feel awkward to ask but if you have a corner chippy or shop you always go to, you would just have to ask once.

    In the UK (and Scandinavia) McDonald's chips are vegan so that could be a safe bet if you don't want to ask first.
     
  3. Jamie in Chile

    Jamie in Chile Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    451
    Ratings:
    +150 / 1 / -1
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegetarian
    1. If you want to know foor sure, you will have to ask. Think of the least awkward way to ask. In person, email, calling them up? If in person, you could go in when it's a quiet time.

    2. If the issue is you want to eat them at various different outlets rather than one just favourite one, then it's too much hassle to be absolutely sure all of the time. Just eat them and hope for the best. You know, to reduce your "animal suffering footprint" by 99% is a realistic goal, to do it by 99.9% is a lot harder, and to do it by 100% is impossible. So I would also argue that you don't need to worry about eating animal fat occassionally.

    3. Unless of course it really disgusts you, or there is some medical reason why it could be bad for your health, or provoke a reaction, in which case ignore point 2.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Forest Nymph
    Brooding

    Forest Nymph Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ratings:
    +396 / 1 / -11
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    Some vegans will eat "chips" or fries from the same oil as other items. Same with veggie burger cooked on same grill. TBH I think this is a difference of opinion. My college will not take legal responsibility for deep fried or grill veggie items so label them vegetarian even if they contain no eggs, no dairy and no gelatin. However many vegans eat chips/fries and veggie burgers with similar or same vats/grills.
     
  5. Forest Nymph
    Brooding

    Forest Nymph Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ratings:
    +396 / 1 / -11
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    In the US McDonald's fries aren't vegan because they actually fry them in beef tallow. Also there are Mexican restaurants who use lard. That isn't vegan either.

    I guess I addressed it more like simply "fried in the same vegetable oil."
     
  6. alleycat

    alleycat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    I don't eat chips except at home when we make our own.
     
  7. veganDreama

    veganDreama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    Ratings:
    +108 / 2 / -0
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    Oh Dear! I eat chips from a chip shop. I'm told they are vegan also spring roll mushy peas and curry sauce.
     
  8. Nekodaiden

    Nekodaiden Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    640
    Ratings:
    +203 / 0 / -5
    Lifestyle/Diet:
    Vegan
    I know fish and chip shops around where I am at do not have separate fry vats for non-animal foods, so the chances are your fried chips will be fried in the same oil as the fish and other animal products are.

    What this amounts to in terms of ingestion is an interesting question from strictly vegan perspective.

    What it amounts to in terms of health is undisputed, even if the oil was only used to fry non-animal foods, it would still be terrible for you, first because oil is a junk food that contributes almost nothing but a little vitamin E in it's pure form, and second because it's fried - destroyed and containing trans fats.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice